Leduc County


Leduc County is a predominantly rural municipality located in central Alberta. It was incorporated in 1963, encompasses 2,653 square kilometres and is divided into seven electoral boundaries. Leduc County is bordered by Parkland County and Brazeau County in the west, Wetaskiwin County in the south and Camrose County, Beaver County and Strathcona County in the east.

The City of Leduc, Town of Beaumont, Town of Calmar, Town of Thorsby and Village of Warburg are all located within Leduc County boundaries, but are separately governed; the Town of Devon is bordered on three sides by Leduc County. New Sarepta dissolved as a separate municipality on Sept. 1, 2010, and became a hamlet within the corporate jurisdiction of Leduc County.

The county is a dynamic municipality providing the opportunity for diverse lifestyles, including acreage living and a variety of farm operations. It is home to the Edmonton International Airport, Nisku Industrial Business Park and Genesee Power Plant. Located at the heart of one of the strongest economies in the world, the Leduc County region is also strategically located at the crossroads of major air, road and rail transportation routes.

As a rural municipality, agriculture continues to be a cornerstone of industry in Leduc County. However, this region also has a long history with the oil and gas industry. In February 1947, oil was discovered at Leduc No. 1; this discovery has had a profound impact on the growth and development of the Leduc County region and the oil and gas industry continues to fuel the growth in the Nisku Industrial Business Park and surrounding areas.