Rural electoral boundaries must be revisited

Click map to view a larger version.

Click map to view a larger version.

Leduc County urges the Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission to revisit proposed provincial electoral divisions to reflect rural municipal boundaries.

The Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission's preliminary report divides Leduc County into seven provincial electoral divisions, up from the current two (Leduc-Beaumont and Drayton Valley-Devon).

Leduc County residents must be adequately represented in Alberta's legislature. With very little consideration for rural boundaries, the proposed provincial electoral divisions provide inadequate representation to rural municipalities and their residents; it is not practical for Leduc County and its residents to be represented by seven MLAs.

Mayor John Whaley

Leduc County proposes splitting the municipality into two provincial electoral divisions; these would be separated by Range Road 243/244 to divide the higher urban populations of the Town of Beaumont and City of Leduc.

Leduc County requests that the commission reflect Leduc County's municipal boundaries in its proposal, as well as consider the geographic size of electoral divisions, which directly impacts a constituent's ability to connect to his or her member of legislative assembly.

As proposed, portions of Leduc County would be grouped with municipalities outside the Edmonton metropolitan region, which would negatively impact regional collaboration initiatives.

We believe in and support regional collaboration in the Edmonton metropolitan region. Fracturing the provincial electoral divisions of member municipalities would weaken the ability to effectively collaborate.

Mayor John Whaley

In addition, Leduc County is requesting that the lands included in the recent Annexation Agreement be accurately reflected, with divisions adjusted accordingly.

View the letter Mayor John Whaley sent to the Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission on June 29