Leduc County council appoints mayor

Leduc County council was sworn in at the organizational meeting on Oct. 24, 2017.

Leduc County council was sworn in at the organizational meeting on Oct. 24, 2017.

At its organizational meeting held this morning, Leduc County council unanimously appointed Division 5 Councillor Tanni Doblanko to act as Leduc County mayor for a one-year term.

It is my honour to serve as Leduc County mayor and lead this council over the next year. This is a role that I take great pride in, and I know my fellow councillors feel the same about representing their divisions. I have great confidence in our collective council that we will continue to represent our ratepayers and advocate for their best interests.

Tanni Doblanko, mayor

Doblanko was nominated by Division 1 Councillor Rick Smith to serve her first term as mayor; this was the sole nomination and was carried unanimously. Doblanko was re-elected for her second term as division 5 councillor on Oct. 16, 2017. 

A mayor is appointed from amongst council each year at the organizational meeting to serve a one-year term. The deputy mayor position is determined on an eight-month rotational basis; the deputy mayor schedule is as follows:

  • Oct. 24, 2017 to June 30, 2018: division one councillor Rick Smith 
  • July 1, 2018 to Feb. 28, 2019: division two councillor Kelly-Lynn Lewis
  • March 1, 2019 to Oct. 31, 2019: division three councillor Kelly Vandenberghe
  • Nov. 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020: division four councillor Larry Wanchuk
  • July 1, 2020 to Feb. 28, 2021: division six councillor Glenn Belozer 
  • March 1, 2021 to October 2021: division seven councillor Ray Scobie