Edmonton Metropolitan Region united by transit model

Transit customers in the Edmonton Metropolitan Region are a step closer to faster and more convenient services between all 13 communities, as a result of a memorandum of understanding (MOU) signed today to establish a Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC).

The MOU outlines how the Edmonton Metropolitan Region partners will voluntarily work together to set up and operate intermunicipal routes, leaving local service with existing transit agencies. The RTSC will provide more integrated and reliable movement between nearby communities than the current mix of transit services.

Providing public transportation options for our customers is a priority for Leduc County, and doing so with our regional partners allows us to maximize regional opportunities in the most efficient and economical manner possible.

Regional transit is a benefit to transit customers and economic development alike, as it provides accessible transportation to and from employment centres in the region.

Mayor Tanni Doblanko

The Government of Alberta has provided $3.7 million to support behind-the-scenes work to set up the commission. The goal is to have the new commission begin intermunicipal operation after 2020. The Edmonton Metropolitan Region will join the ranks of major Canadian urban centres that have efficient regional transit services, including Vancouver, Victoria, Montreal, Toronto and Ottawa.

Image caption: Front (L-R): Town of Beaumont Mayor John Stewart, Town of Stony Plain William Choy, City of Fort Saskatchewan Mayor Gale Katchur, City of St. Albert Mayor Cathy Heron, Strathcona County Mayor Rod Frank, Sturgeon County Mayor Alanna Hnatiw and Leduc County Mayor Tanni Doblanko. Back (L-R): Parkland County Mayor Rod Shaigec, Town of Devon Mayor Ray Ralph, City of Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson, City of Leduc Councillor Glen Finstad, City of Spruce Grove Mayor Stuart Houston and Town of Morinville Mayor Barry Turner.